The beginning of the end…

As well as being the first of June, today is the first day of the last month of my contract at the the University. I have very mixed feelings. It has been a wonderful job to have in many ways, but recently I’ve felt like I could do so much more. The old brain hasn’t been really challenged for a while.

Like last time I was in this postion (see also this post from last year) I am feeling disillusioned with Archaeology as a career. I love it. Absolutely love it and its all I’ve ever wanted to do (ask my P1 teacher) but there just aren’t the jobs. I know I’ll have to do something else to earn money until a career job (like something awesome in archaeological computing or publishing or archiving) comes up to apply for.

I know that I’m in a better position than this time last year when living in Loughborough where they didn’t seem to want to employ anyone who can read or write lest they upset the be-tracksuited masses.  At least now I live in a proper city with potential jobs, even gap-filling ones. I also know that we’re lucky to live in a house that is cheap and we won’t get booted out of if I can’t find something.

However, as parents have recently been fond of pointing out, I’m not getting any younger and if I want to start a new career, as opposed to just a job, then I should probably do it sooner rather than later. In the meantime, I shall religiously check BAJR, museum jobs and jobs.ac.uk as well as the Royal Commission, NMRs, SMRs and libraries etc with my morning coffee until I find something. At least I’ll have more time for knitting and baking – maybe I could time travel back to the 1950’s and become a housewifey? :p

Leave a Reply

