A foray into the dark art of sewing

image

Dino playmat

Knitting is my usual thing, but that dinosaur fabric you see there made me want to try sewing. Fat quarters are apparently a big deal in the sewing world but I bought that bit purely for the dinos – shallow but hey! I used the quilted playmat tutorial over at the Purl Bee with a few modifications. The backing is one piece of purple cord rather than a mirror of the front and I only quilted a few of the dinos rather than them all. I hand quilted the dino shapes and the large dino outline was done freehand whilst the hearts were done on the machine. I also sewed down the outside of the mat as well to help it keep its shape. For a first go at quilting I’m quite pleased, now to find some more dinosaur fabric!

Leave a Reply

